



2019Board of DirectorsNomination Report



Overview

The following process outlines the Fusion Halifax 2019 Board Recruitment review process.

Thank you to the members of the 2019 nomination team:

Jackie Nguyen, Chair, Fusion Halifax & Executive Recruiter with KBRS

Devon Reynolds, Director, Member Relations, Fusion Halifax & Technical Recruiter, Team Lead with NTT Data

Emma Wach, Member, Fusion Halifax & Recruitment Specialist with Meridia Recruitment Solutions

Timeline

September 10th: Open Board Meeting

September 17th: Board roles posted and shared

Week of October 7th:

- Applications were reviewed in advance using a candidate assessment grid
- Candidates above threshold were selected for interview

October 27^{th} : Interview evening 3PM - 7PM

November 4th: Interview evening 5PM - 8PM

Week of November 10th, 17th: Nominated board members notified December 4th: AGM – Nomination/Appointment of Board Members

Review Process

For 2019, ten (10) applications were received. Upon review of the applications received for the incoming Board, five (5) candidates were selected for interviews held at KBRS.

Every candidate who was interviewed was asked a number of standard questions to introduce themselves, share their motivation for joining the board, their experience, etc. Interview questions were also asked specific to the role that the individual applied for. All interviews ended with an opportunity for applicants to ask questions from the nomination team.

Deliberations took into account candidates' initial applications and interviews as relevant and the nomination team put forward a slate of Board of Directors to be nominated at the Annual General Meeting December 4th, 2019. All candidates not selected for nomination were notified.



Nominations for Appointment to 2019-2020 Fusion Halifax Board of Directors:

Emily Seaman – Director, Development
Sarah Healy – Director, Marketing and Communications
Sankar Nammalware – Director, Social Media
Kaitlynne Lowe – Director, Programming
Jaida Regan – Director, Programming

We would like to welcome back Board Directors who are serving the second year of their term:

Jackie Nguyen – Chair
Rohan Narang – Vice-Chair
Devon Reynolds – Director, Member Relations
Mahbubur Rahman – Treasurer
Lydia Philips – Director, Programming
Kathryn Piché – Director, Programming
Sara Espinal Henao, Legal Secretary (interim)

Outgoing Board Members:

We wish to sincerely thank the following outgoing Board Directors for their time and commitment to the Board:

Jack Dallaire, Director, Development
Cory Porteous, Director, Programming
Corinne Abraham, Director, Programming
Akash Pandey, Director, Equity, Diversity and Inclusion
Lindsey McIntyre, Director, Marketing and Communications