

# 2022 Board of Directors Nomination Report

## **Board of Directors Nomination Report**

#### Overview

The following process outlines the Fusion Halifax 2022 Board Recruitment review process.

## Thank you to the members of the 2022 nomination team:

Dayana Celis, Vice-Chair, Fusion Halifax Kaitlynne Lowe, Director of Development, Fusion Halifax Gillian Crosby, Director of Member Relations, Fusion Halifax

#### Timeline 2022

September 1<sup>st</sup>: Board Meeting

September 15<sup>th</sup>: Board roles posted on website and shared

Week of October 10<sup>th</sup>:

- Applications were reviewed in advance using a candidate assessment grid
- Candidates who met threshold were selected for interview

## Week of October 17<sup>th</sup>

- October 18<sup>th</sup>: Interview evening 6:30pm 8:30pm
- October 19<sup>th</sup>: Interview evening 6:30pm 8:00pm
- October 20<sup>th</sup>: Interview evening 6:30pm 7pm
- October 23<sup>rd</sup>: Meeting to review candidates and determine Board selection

Week of October 24th: Successful candidates notified

November 16<sup>th</sup>: AGM – Nomination/Appointment of Board Members

#### **Review Process**

All candidates were evaluated against criteria including the following:

For 2022, there were eleven open Board positions. Upon review of the applications received for the incoming Board, a total of eight candidates were selected for interviews held virtually via Zoom. The positions of Treasurer and Governance Officer (formerly Director of Corporate Secretary and Legal Counsel) did not receive any applications.

Breakdown of applicants was as follows:

- Director of Development: two applicants
- Director of Diversity and Inclusion: one applicant
- Director of Marketing and Communications: one applicant
- Director of Programming: three applicants
- Director of Social Media: one applicant

Each candidate who was interviewed was asked 10 standard questions including to introduce themselves, share their motivation for joining the board, indicate their relevant experience, etc. Interview questions were also asked specific to the role that the individual applied for. All interviews ended with an opportunity for applicants to ask questions from the committee.

Following each individual interview, the committee debriefed to discuss the candidate's alignment with the criteria for the position and the unique requirements for the role. The committee deliberated following hearing from all candidates and put forward a slate of board of directors to nominate at the Annual General Meeting on November 16th, 2022. All candidates not selected for nomination were notified and contacted by Gillian Crosby.

### Nominations for Appointment to 2022-2023 Fusion Halifax Board of Directors:

Diane Prought - Director, Development
Tia Upshaw - Director, Diversity and Inclusion
Alex Wilson - Director, Marketing and Communications
Aishwarya Shrestha - Director, Programming
Janelle Poushay - Director, Programming
Thomas Martin - Director, Programming
Abhishek Bhuchar - Director, Social Media

## We would like to welcome back Board Directors who are serving the second year of their term:

Gillian Crosby - Director, Member Relations Anas Tahir - Director, Programming

## **Board Members taking a new role:**

Dayana Celis - Chair, Fusion Halifax Kaitlynne Lowe - Vice Chair, Fusion Halifax

## **Outgoing Board Members:**

We wish to sincerely thank the following outgoing Board Directors for their time and commitment to the Board:

Rohan Narang - Chair, Fusion Halifax
Danielle MacNeil – Director, Marketing and Communications
Alison Zimmer - Director, Programming
Danielle Flynn - Director, Programming
Kemie Emmanuel - Director, Programming
Krista O'Connor - Director, Programming
Lokiy Wang - Director, Programming
Rigel Biscione - Director, Programming
Sarah Burden - Director, Social Media
Samuel Thompson - Treasurer

## Official Fusion Halifax Board for 2022/2023:

Dayana Celis - Chair, Fusion Halifax
Kaitlynne Lowe - Vice Chair, Fusion Halifax
Diane Prought - Director, Development
Tia Upshaw - Director, Diversity and Inclusion
Alex Wilson - Director, Marketing and Communications
Gillian Crosby - Director, Member Relations
Aishwarya Shrestha - Director, Programming
Anas Tahir - Director, Programming
Janelle Poushay - Director, Programming
Thomas Martin - Director, Programming
Abhishek Bhuchar - Director, Social Media

<sup>\*</sup>Treasurer and Governance Officer to be appointed at a later date